Outstanding UROP Mentor Awards

Each spring, we invite UROP students to nominate research mentors who have demonstrated exceptional guidance and teaching in a research setting. In addition to faculty, nominees may include instructors, lecturers, graduate students and other research affiliates, who provided UROP supervision anytime between the summer and spring of the given academic year.

Nominations can be based on a variety of factors, including:

  • Quality mentorship, supervision, and support
  • Availability to students
  • Guidance in research
  • Overall commitment to undergraduate research

The 2017-2018 Outstanding UROP Mentor Awards Recipients are:

  • Prof. Canan Dagdeviren - Assistant Professor of Media Arts and Sciences, LG Career Development Professor of Media Arts and Sciences

    Nominated by: Farita Tasnim

  • Alex Hanson, EECS Graduate Student, Research Lab for Electronics (RLE)

    Nominated by: Julia Belk, Anna Song, Rachel Yang, and Rod Bayliss